Global Running Day: As It's Happening

Global Running Day: As It's Happening

Global Running Day is here! More than 1,200,000 people from 187 countries have made the pledge to run, and more than 450,000 youth are taking part in the second-annual Million Kid Run.

Join New York Road Runners on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Snapchat (NYRRsnaps) for a look at all that’s going on across the five boroughs of NYC. Here on the blog, we’ll keep you up to speed on Global Running Day happenings around the world—check back frequently, as we’ll be adding updates on the hour.


11:59 p.m. EST
New York, NY

That's about all from Global Running Day 2017—hope everyone out there had a great run!


10:47 p.m. EST / 7:47 PST
Phoenix, AZ

Moving to the Sun Belt as the sun sets over the western U.S.—here are a few groups that gave each other a warm welcome and joined up for a run in the "Valley of the Sun."


10:10 p.m. EST / 11:10 p.m. ADT
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Heading north of the border to check in with the North End Runners, as they got their miles in through the streets of Halifax.


9:00 p.m. EST / 6:00 p.m. PST
Portland, OR

There are few places better to get out for a Global Running Day run than your local running store, and this store in Portland celebrated the occasion with a post-run BBQ.


6:30 p.m. EST
Atlanta, GA

Earlier in this post, we highlighted the Atlanta Track Club's run at midnight, and mentioned how they would be hosting a total of four runs throughout the day. It turns out that four runners attended all four runs—that's dedication!


5:12 p.m. EST / 10:12 p.m. WEST
Viseu, Portugal

Portuguese running group Correr Viseu has a motto of "Sozinho vou mais rápido. Juntos vamos mais longe." or "Alone I go faster. Together we go further." 

Tonight, they gathered for a special Global Running Day edition of their 7:30 p.m. Wednesday run.


5:02 p.m. EST
Boston, MA

The Boston Athletic Association staff got together to cover 26.2 miles on the track in Hopkinton, not too far from the start of the Boston Marathon.


4:41 p.m. EST / 12:41 a.m. MSK
Ulyanovsk, Russia

Earlier in the day, runners printed out Global Running Day bibs before running through the streets of Ulyanovsk. Some in the pack waved flags as they jogged along, while many others decked themselves out in pink for the run.


4:06 p.m. EST / 10:06 p.m. CEST
Cuneo, Italy

As the sun set over the Italian Alps, runners traversed through trails on the Colle della Maddalena (Maddalena Pass).


3:25 p.m. EST
New Castle, NH, USA

Olympian and NYRR Team for Kids Ambassador Molly Huddle inspired young runners at a school in New England.


2:43 p.m. EST / 9:43 p.m. ADT
Amman, Jordan

In Jordan's capital city, runners waited out the mid-day high temperature of 97 degrees (36ºC) before stepping out for an early evening 8K.


1:39 p.m. EST / 8:39 p.m. EEST
Beirut, Lebanon

The Beirut Marathon organized a group run, with kids and adults from groups like the BeiRun Crew taking part. After the run, participants lined up for a photo behind a banner that read "We Pledge to Run for Peace."


2:18 p.m. EST / 10:18 p.m. GST
Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Each spring, the United Arab Emirates comes to Central Park at the UAE Healthy Kidney 10K. On Global Running Day, runners in the UAE's capital city gathered to cover 100 miles as a group in one hour—and it looks like they topped it by nine miles!


1:22 p.m. EST / 12:22 p.m. CDT
Park Ridge, IL

These ladies are getting after #6 on our 25 Ways to Run on Global Running Day list.

Happy #GlobalRunningDay from our crew! #globalrunningday2017 #officerun #funrun #womenrunners

A post shared by Albert Whitman & Company (@albertwhitman) on


12:45 p.m. EDT / 9:45 a.m. PDT
Puerto Peñasco, Mexico

Bernard Lagat, an eight-time winner of the Wanamaker Mile at the NYRR Millrose Games, took his two children and his niece out for a run in Puerto Peñasco. Looks like good running form runs in the family!


12:29 p.m. EDT / 530 BCE
New York, NY / Athens, Greece

Pheidippides became the world's first "marathoner" when he made his run from Marathon to Sparta around 490 BC. Runners on mile 24 of the TCS New York City Marathon will pass the Metropolitan Museum of Art in Central Park, and can see relics from Pheidippides' era—like the one shown below—within its halls.


11:23 a.m. EST
Buffalo, NY

These upstate runners rallied a group of nearly 200 this morning. 

11:20 a.m. EST / 11:20 p.m. WITA
Mataram, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia

Global Running Day is winding down in some parts of the world, with clubs squeezing in last-minute late-night miles. 

11:10 a.m. EST / 10:10 a.m. CST
Champaign, IL

Susannah Scaroni, the 2017 United Airlines NYC Half women's wheelchair champion, lined up for a few laps of the track with her teammates.


10:48 a.m. EST / 4:48 a.m. SAST
Johannesburg, South Africa

It's not always easy to get up early for a run, but it helps to have a crew of friends joining you—especially when it's Global Running Day!


10:46 a.m. EST
New York, NY

NYC City Council members made time for a quick morning run across the Brooklyn Bridge. (Show this to your boss if you’re having trouble squeezing in some midday miles today.)

10:37 a.m. EST / 4:37 p.m. CEST
Monaco

Three-time New York City Marathon champion Paula Radcliffe led groups of students around the track for a workout at Stade Louis II.



10:07 a.m. EDT / 3:07 p.m. BST
London, England

Even in between Premier League seasons, a midfielder's gotta stay in shape! Aaron Ramsey of Arsenal FC sets out for a midday run with his fellow Welshman, Crystal Palace FC's Joe Ledley.

It's #globalrunningday! Off for a jog with @joe16led @nbrunning

A post shared by Aaron Ramsey (@aaronramsey) on


10:02 a.m. EDT
Knoxville, MD

In our 25 Ways to Run on Global Running Day post, we highlighted #19 as "Hit the Trails," and then shared some local trail spots. While it's not necessarily in the Tri-State area, there aren't many better trails on the East Coast than the Appalachian Trail!

It's #GlobalRunningDay! We're celebrating with a #trailrun (or maybe a leisurely stroll) on the #AppalachianTrail — how about you?

A post shared by Appalachian Trail Conservancy (@appalachiantrail) on


8:15 a.m. EST / 7:15 a.m. ECT
Guayaquil, Ecuador

A Global Running Day group run is always special, even for women who train together all the time.

7:30 a.m. EDT / 6:30 a.m. CDT
Nashville, TN

With the Predators out of town for Game 5, runners took over the Music City with a cross country 5K.


7:23 a.m. EDT / 4:23 a.m. PDT
Lincoln, CA

Listed at #9 on our 25 Ways to Run on Global Running Day list was to create some map artwork with your run. Here's one West Coast runner who got creative early in the a.m.:


7:00 a.m. EDT / 7:00 p.m. SGT
Singapore

Club runners gathered for a run through Singapore, crossing its Helix Bridge as part of a 12-kilometer route. Over the course of an hour, the group's runners covered more than 2,000 kilometers combined.

Make a difference in your run #ASICSSG #ASICSRunningClubSg #WantItMore #GlobalRunningDay #throwbackwednesday

A post shared by ASICS Running Club (Singapore) (@asicsrunningclubsg) on


5:45 a.m. EDT
Indianapolis, IN

The Indianapolis chapter of Back on My Feet, a nationwide organization in 12 cities that combats homelessness through the power of running, started Global Running Day with a pre-dawn group run.


12:00 a.m. EDT
Atlanta, GA

As far as the United States goes, the Atlanta Track Club got out of the blocks first, starting a run at the stroke of midnight. The club will also have runs starting at 6:00 a.m., 12:00 p.m., and 6:30 p.m.


9:00 a.m. EDT
New York, NY

We're coming at you live from the NYRR RUNCENTER featuring the NB Run Hub!

We're catching up on how people around the world have been celebrating Global Running Day so far. Keep checking this page throughout the day for more posts from around the globe!

#TBT-Style Coverage from the NYRR Retro 5-Miler

#TBT-Style Coverage from the NYRR Retro 5-Miler

A Trip Back in Time at the NYRR Retro 5-Miler

A Trip Back in Time at the NYRR Retro 5-Miler